EcoScanTM Online

Scrap analyzer for shredded scrap

The use of shredded scrap for steelproduction has significant metallurgical benefits. Shorter tap-to-tap times, a faster filling of the scrap baskets or the melting furnace and e.g. reduced electrode costs. Nevertheless, the use of shredded scrap in many plants is not only limited due to furnace technology. Rather, increasing quality problems have been revealed in recent years which are clearly visible in successively increasing and extremely fluctuating copper contents.

The incalculable fluctuations limit the use of shredded scrap, especially for those steel grades that allow only a very low copper content. Instead more raw iron or DRI / HBI is often used. As a rule this is associated with higher costs and a poorer CO2 balance but in total safer for production.

SICON has developed a two-stage solution for the steel industry that makes shredded scrap recovery even more rewarding. With the EcoScan online SICON has developed the first reliable and economical online solution that gives permanent transparency of the chemical parameters of the shredded scrap as well as on the bulk density. Thus, the optimum amount of shredded scrap can be added. Worst-case considerations are no longer necessary.

The advantages of online analysis become fully available when they are connected to the SICON ScrapTuning. ScrapTuning is a solution specially developed for steel mills that cleans shredded scrap to achieve guaranteed copper contents of <0.15-0.20 and to increase the FE content through a specific cleaning process.

ScrapTuning makes it possible to upgrade low-quality shredded scrap, which is sometimes cheaper to buy, at a low cost. Shredder scrap thus becomes an alternative to pig iron, DRI / HBI, also for long steel production.

ScrapTuning and EcoScan Online are networked and completely automated. An integration into the control system of the smelting operation is easily feasible. The scrap insert is thus completely transparent and can be optimized.

Your benefits at a glance

• Permanent control of copper content in shredded scrap (and other elements as well)
• Control of bulk density
• Individual integration into existing systems
• Intelligent alarm system
• Detailed documentation system
• In addition: Online control of the “Chemistry of copper chops”

EcoScanTM Online is the first compact and cost-effective online analyzer that enables online inspection of scrap quality.

Data sheet EcoScanTM Online

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

EcoScan Online

Online-Analytik für Shredderschrott

Der Einsatz von Shredderschrott zur Stahlherstellung ist mit signifikanten metallurgischen Vorteilen verbunden. Kürzere Tap-to-Tap-Zeiten, eine schneller Befüllung der Schrottkörbe bzw. des Schmelzofen sowie z.B. reduzierten Elektrodenkosten. Dennoch ist die Verwendung von Shredderschrott in vielen Werken nicht nur aus ofentechnischen Gründen limitiert. Vielmehr haben sich in den letzten Jahren zunehmende Qualitätsprobleme offenbart, die deutlich sichtbar in sukzessive steigenden und extrem schwankenden Kupfergehalten werden.

Die unkalkulierbaren Schwankungen begrenzen den Einsatz von Shredderschrott insbesondere für solche Stahlqualitäten, die nur einen sehr niedrigen Kupfergehalt erlauben. Stattdessen wird oftmals mehr Roheisen oder DRI / HBI eingesetzt. Im Regelfall ist dies mit höheren Kosten und einer schlechteren CO2-Bilanz verbunden, aber in Summe sicherer für die Produktion.

SICON hat für die Stahlindustrie eine zweistufige Lösung erarbeitet, die den Shredderschrotteinsatz wieder lohnenswerter macht.  Mit dem EcoScan Online hat SICON erstmals eine betriebssichere und wirtschaftliche Onlinelösung entwickelt, die permanente Transparenz über die chemischen Parameter des Shredderschrotts geben, sowie auch über das Schüttgewicht. Somit kann die optimale Menge an Shredderschrott zugegeben werden. Worst-Case-Betrachtungen sind nicht mehr notwendig.

Die Vorteile der Onlineanalytik werden vollends nutzbar, wenn diese mit dem SICON ScrapTuning verbunden werden. ScrapTuning ist eine speziell für Stahlwerke entwickelte Lösung, die den Shredderschrott reinigt, um so garantierte Kupfergehalte von <0,15-0,20 zu erreichen und durch einen spezifischen Reinigungsvorgang den FE-Gehalt zu erhöhen.

ScrapTuning macht es möglich, auch minderwertigeren Shreddrschrott, der manchmal preiswerter einzukaufen ist, mit geringen Kosten aufzuwerten. Shredderschrott wird so auch für die Langstahlherstellung eine Alternative zu Roheisen, DRI/HBI.

ScrapTuning und EcoScan Online sind vernetzt und komplett automatisiert. Eine Einbindung in das Kontrollsystem des Schmelzbetriebs ist problemlos machbar. Der Schrotteinsatz wird somit absolut transparent und optimierbar.

Ihre Vorteile auf einen Blick

• Permanente Kontrolle des Kupfergehalts im Shredder-Schrott (und ebenso in anderen Elementen)

• Kontrolle der Schüttdichte

• Individuelle Integration in bestehende Systeme

• Intelligentes Alarmsystem

• Detailliertes Dokumentationssystem

• Außerdem: Online-Kontrolle der „Chemistry of copper chops“

Der SICON EcoScan Online ist der erste kompakte und kostengünstige Online-Analyzer, der eine Online-Kontrolle der Schrottqualität ermöglicht.

Download

Datenblatt EcoScan Online

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!